OHIP Advisory Board

The National Advisory Board was established in 2003 to provide strategic guidance on the goals, organization, and administration of OHIP. Members are selected from the core occupational safety and health disciplines, as well as from labor and employer organizations. The Board reviews problems and successes of OHIP and discusses upcoming plans. Support of the members is key to developing our national reputation, promoting student recruitment, and encouraging collaborations with new project sites.


Darryl Alexander – American Federation of Teachers (AFT)

Sherry Baron – NIOSH

Gail Bateson (Board Chair) – Worksafe

Sharon Beard – NIEHS, WETP

Mark Catlin – Service Employees International Union (SEIU)

Anna Fendley – United Steelworkers (USW)

Linda Forst – University of Illinois at Chicago

Jim Frederick – United Steelworkers (USW)

David Kotelchuck – Hunter College (Professor Emeritus)

Kate McPhaul – US Department of Veteran Affairs

Tim Morse – University of Connecticut

Karen Mulloy – University of Colorado

Jackie Nowell – United Food Commercial Workers (UFCW)

Peter Orris – University of Illinois at Chicago

Rebecca Reindel – AFL-CIO and Former OHIP intern (2008)

Ken Rosenman – Michigan State University

Noah Seixas – University of Washington

Joel Shufro – NYCOSH

Eduardo Siqueira – University of Massachusetts, Boston

Craig Slatin – UMass Lowell

Rosie Sokas – Georgetown

Mike Wright – United Steelworkers (USW)